‘Streams of mercy’ season

9048815_362cfcd1c2_zThis past year and a half, with multiple losses and thousands of dollars down the drain, was like being in a drought. My foundation seemed to be cracking, my ‘cup’ was empty, and I really needed some ‘water’ from God to keep my faith from shriveling into nothingness.

Now, it seems, God is redeeming that time ‘in the desert,’ allowing my husband and I to experience His streams of mercy.

We found out about seven weeks ago that we were expecting twins. At first, there was a lot of fear that something would go wrong, but much of that has subsided as we’ve seen them thriving, and excitement is now starting to set in. I smile as I watch my belly grow and daydream about the future. I can’t wait to find out their genders, so I can dream a little more clearly and start preparing the nursery. I visited with some pregnant girlfriends last night and as we talked about pregnancy/delivery/parenting, I was overwhelmed with feelings of gratefulness to God and our donors that my husband and I once again get to experience these miracles.

More of God’s mercy has poured out on us through Samaritan Ministries, the alternative to health insurance that Colt and I are a part of through my employer. Though embryo adoption costs are not covered, they allow you to submit the expenses of it as a “Special Prayer Need.” They send these special prayer needs out to members and they can choose to donate toward these needs as they feel called—in a tax-deductible way if they wish. We have been SHOWERED with blessings, and it is truly humbling. My husband and I are moved to tears as we open these cards filled with prayers, encouragement, and financial gifts from our brothers and sisters in Christ around the country. God changing something that started out as a bank-account-burden into a beautiful reminder of His goodness and provision in our lives. One card/sacrificial gift caused my husband to walk out of the room, as he was moved with emotion. God’s taking care of us, restoring us and our faith and trust in Him.

And of course, the excitement of our family and friends puts the cherry on top. We’re going to have a gender reveal fish fry for our close family members, my mom and I are going to a huge consignment sale tomorrow, my parents graciously decided to give us a vehicle of theirs that would fit three car seats in the back, and I met with a group of ladies last week, whom I had only known about 30 minutes, and after hearing our story they circled around me and prayed for the babies and me and my husband. Hearing my husband pray for the babies, and our three-year-old son ask if they are here yet … my cup overflows.

“And after you have suffered a little while, the God of all grace, who has called you to his eternal glory in Christ, will himself restore, confirm, strengthen, and establish you.” 1 Peter 5:10

“Let us then with confidence draw near to the throne of grace, that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need.” (Hebrews 4:16)

“Therefore the Lord waits to be gracious to you,
and therefore he exalts himself to show mercy to you.
For the Lord is a God of justice;
blessed are all those who wait for him.” (Isaiah 30:18)

Looking for children’s books about embryo donation/adoption? I’ve written two and they are available for purchase on Amazon!
blog covercover

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

